sskinner Professor Stephen Skinner – Imperial College Director (Industry)
Professor in the Department of Materials at Imperial College London
Research Areas:

  • Materials for new energy technologies including solid oxide fuel cell electrolytes and
  • Development of interstitial oxide ion conductors for fuel cell applications
  • Development of high temperature solid state electrolysers and permeation membranes
  • In-situ characterisation of materials as function of operating conditions
  • Understanding of degradation mechanisms and durability of electroceramic devices

For more information visit Stephen’s website

Dr Neil Curson - UCL Director Professor Neil Curson – UCL Director (Industry)
Professor in the Department of Electronic Engineering at UCL
Research Areas:

  • Controlled placement and imaging of dopants in semiconductors
  • Study and control of chemical reactions at surfaces
  • Development of scanning probe lithography techniques
  • Fabrication of novel materials by molecular manipulation

For more information visit Neil’s website

Professor Valeria Nicolosi – Trinity College Dublin Director 
Professor in the Department of Chemistry at TCD
Research Areas:

  • Dispersion and exfoliation of 1D and 2D nanomaterials
  • Aberration corrected electron microscopy characterisation of nano materials and devices
  • In-situ EM characterisation of nanomaterials and devices
  • Characterisation of MoSI Nanowires
  • Batteries and Supercapacitators based on nanomaterials
  • Development of energy storage devices additively manufactured

For more information visit Valeria’s website

RLZHoye_DowningPhoto--tojpeg_1578654527978_x1 Dr Robert Hoye – Co Director Imperial (Admissions)
Lecturer in the Department of Materials at Imperial College London
Research Areas:

  • The development of materials that can tolerate defects
  • Scalable manufacturing of semiconductors
  • Engineering of advanced devices, including in-depth characterisation to understand the loss mechanisms.

For more information visit Robert’s Group webiste

Dr Anna Regoutz – Co Director UCL (Admissions)
Lecturer in the Department of Chemistry at UCL
Research Areas:

  • Materials and interfaces in power electronics
  • Oxide materials for electronic devices
  • Sol-gel methods for thin films
  • Inorganic materials for biosensors
  • Hard X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy
  • X-ray matter interactions

For more information visit Anna’s website

Camille Dr Camille Petit – Co Director Imperial (Curriculum)
Reader in the Department of Chemical Engineering at Imperial College London
Research Areas:

  • Synthesis, Characterisation and Testing of Multifunctional Nanomaterials for Energy and Environmental Applications (e.g., CO2 capture and conversion, water purification and reuse)
  • Development of 3D and 2D nanomaterials (e.g., Metal Organic Framework, Graphite Oxide, Boron Nitride, Carbon Nitride)
  • Reactive Adsorption and Photocatalysis

For more information visit Camille’s website

Dr Chris Howard – Co Director UCL (Curriculum)
Associate Professor in the Department of Physics & Astronomy at UCL
Research Areas:

  • Low dimensional materials (layered materials, 2D materials, nanotubes) and their manipulation via chemical doping
  • Exotic electronic ground states (superconductivity, charge density waves)
  • Physics of solutions and liquids
  • Advanced large scale facility scattering techniques (elastic and inelastic X-ray and neutron scattering, photoemission spectroscopy, quasi elastic neutron scattering)

For more information visit Chris’s website

Marquardt_K_150813-JPG--tojpeg_1541415029979_x1 Dr Katharina Marquardt – Co Director Imperial
Lecturer in ceramics at Imperial College London
Research Areas:

  • interfaces and their effect on elastic properties
  • Element transport
  • Study of the grain boundary character distribution (GBCD) in polycrystalline samples
  • Mmicrostructure development during deformation at extreme pressures.

For more information visit Katharina’s website

GT Prof Geoff Thornton – Co Director UCL (Facilities)
Professor (ERC) in the Department of Chemistry at UCL
Research Areas:

  • Nanoscience and surface science of metal oxides
  • Developing single molecule spectroscopy on oxide surfaces, imaging single molecule chemistry, and nanofabrication of functional devices
  • Crystallography
  • STM/Atomic force microscopy
  • Synchrotron radiation
  • Diffraction

For more information visit Geoff’s website

Dr Lewys Jones – Co Director Trinity College Dublin
Assistant Professor (Ussher) in the Department of Physics at TCD
Research Areas:

  • Scanning stability in the aberration-corrected scanning transmission electron microscope (AC-STEM)
  • Applications of multi-frame STEM imaging and spectroscopy data
  • Hardware development for TEM (inc. emitters, holders, lenses & detectors)
  • Data analytics for low-dose imaging (inc. machine learning)

For more information visit Lewys’ website

hbibi Ms Hafiza Bibi – Centre Manager
Imperial College London
University College London
sandra Ms Sandra Ellis – Programme Manager 
Trinity College Dublin